skip navigation
Department of Philosophy

Navigation

Why Philosophy? Athena Teaching Student

Overall, philosophy is an excellent part of any student's general University Education. Courses in philosophy can be taken towards several degrees; and virtually all programs of study at SDSU can be enriched by the inclusion of one or more of our courses. Masters programs are offered for students who wish to go on to do graduate study in Philosophy.

Faculty

Atterton

Peter Atterton (Ph.D. Essex)
Associate Dean, College of Arts and Letters
Professor

Phone: (619) 594-3007
Location: AL-659
atterton@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: TTH 1:00-2:00

Continental Philosophy,
Animal Philosophy

Curriculum Vitae

Brown Alison Brown (Ph.D. Florida State
J.D. University of San Diego)
Lecturer

Phone:(619) 594-5344
Location: AL-440
alisonmariebrown@gmail.com

Office Hours: F 12:00-2:30 pm

 
Barbone
Steven Barbone (Ph.D. Marquette)
Graduate Advisor
Associate Professor

Phone: (619) 594-0249
Location: AL-434
sbarbone@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: MW 3:30-5:00 pm, AL 434; W 12:00-1:45 pm, West Commons front patio; and by appt.

Spinoza, Modern Philosophy

Curriculum Vitae

Corlett

J. Angelo Corlett (Ph.D. Arizona)
Professor

Phone: (619) 594-6251
Location: AL-432

acorlett@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: MW 3:15-5:00 pm

Moral Philosophy, Epistemology, and Legal Philosophy

Curriculum Vitae

Dedman Shelley Dedman (MA SDSU)
Lecturer

Phone: (619) 594-5344
Location: AL-440
sdedman00@hotmail.com

Office Hours: By appointment

 

Marie Draz Marie Draz (Ph.D. DePaul)
Assistant Professor

Phone: (619) 594-5249
Location: AL-429
mdraz@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: TH 3:30-4:30 pm and by appt.

Feminist Theory, queer/LGBTQ Theory,
Critical Race Theory, Postcolonial Studies

Curriclum Vitae

Francescotti Robert Francescotti (Ph.D. Syracuse)
Undergraduate Advisor
Professor

Phone: (619) 594-6585
Location: AL-438
rfrances@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: M 1:30-3:30 pm; TH 2:00-5:00 pm

Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics

Curriculum Vitae

Neuner

Araceli Peñafuerte-Neuner (Ph.D. UCSD)
Lecturer

Phone: (619) 594-6586
Location: AL-444
aneuner@att.net

Office Hours: M 1-1:50 pm; T 11am-1pm

 
Reyes

Herminia Reyes (M.A. Fordham)
Lecturer

Phone: (619) 594-8839
Location: AL-427
hreyes@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: MWF 9:00 am-12:00 pm

 
siefert

Kevin Siefert (M.A. SDSU)
Lecturer

Phone: (619) 594-5344
Location: AL-440
ksiefert@sdsu.edu

Office Hours:TTH 2:00-3:15 pm

 

Stramondo

Joseph A. Stramondo (Ph.D. Michigan State)
Assistant Professor

Phone: 594-2283
Location: AL-438
jstramondo@sdsu.edu

Office Hours:

Bioethics, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy of Disability, Social & Political Philosophy

Curriculum Vitae

Wawrytko Sandra A. Wawrytko (Ph.D. Washington, St, Louis)
Director of Center of Asian and Pacific Studies
Professor

Phone: (619) 594-5455
Location: AL-428 & 473-A
wawrytko@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours:

Asian Philosophy, Buddhism

Curriculum Vitae

Weston Thomas Weston (Ph.D. MIT)
Professor-Emeritus FERP

Phone: (619) 594-6218
Location: AL-442
tweston@mail.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: MW 2:00-4:00 pm and by appt.

Logic, Philosophy of Science, Political Philosophy, and Dialectical Thought

Curriculum Vitae

Wheeler Mark Wheeler (Ph.D. Rochester)
Chair of Department
Director of the Institute for Ethics & Public Affairs

Associate Professor

Phone: (619) 594-6706
Location: AL-431
mark.wheeler@sdsu.edu

Office Hours: TTH 12:00-1:45 pm

Ancient Greek Philosophy, Plato and Aristotle, Contemporary Value Theory, and Contemporary Metaphysics

Curriculum Vitae

 

Teaching Associates

 

Nicholas Cardwell

Phone: (619) 594-6257
Location: AL-430
cardwell@rohan.sdsu.edu

Office Hours: MW: 2pm - 4pm and by appointment

 
 

Addie Cowan

Phone: (619) 594-6257
Location: AL-441
kcowan@sdsu.edu

Office Hours: MW 2:00-4:00 pm

 
 

Adam Crawley

Phone: (619) 594-6257
Location: AL-441
madacrawley@yahoo.com

Office Hours: T 1:00-2:00 pm; TH 4:00-5:00 pm

 
 

Jake Manalansan

Phone: (619) 594-6257
Location: AL-430
manalansan.jake@gmail.com

Office Hours: T 12:30-1:30 pm; W 3:00-4:00 pm

 

Department Staff

 

Kimberly Kennelly
Administrative Coordinator

Phone: (619) 594-5232
Location: AL-446
kkennell@mail.sdsu.edu

Office hours: MW: 8:30-3:30 TThF: 9:00-3:30

 

Emeritus

 

James Anderson
jamesa@mail.sdsu.edu

Retired 2015
 

Darrel Moellendorf
darrelmoellendorf@gmail.com

Retired 2013
 

Deborah Chaffin
dchaffin@mail.sdsu.edu

Retired 2012
 

Roderick Freeman
rod.freeman@logicalreasoning.net

Retired 2010
 

Leon Rosenstein
rosenst1@mail.sdsu.edu

Retired 2008
 

Andrew L. Feenberg
feenberg@sfu.ca

Retired 2002
 

Eugene A. Troxell
etroxell@mail.sdsu.edu

Retired 2000
 

Stanley N. Weissman
weissm1@mail.sdsu.edu

 
 

Edward W. Warren
ewarr1@live.com

 

 

 

SDSU Philosophy Department